Komeda Jazz Festival
JavaScript and FlashPlayer required. Download Flash Player.



of the meeting of the Jury of the 10th Krzysztof Komeda Composers’ Competition

on 5th November 2017

The Jury, comprising:

  • Professor Leszek Kułakowski, composer; Chairman of the Jury
  • Professor Aleksandra Tomaszewska, composer
  • Professor Marek Czerniewicz, composer

certified that 25 entrants submitted works to the Competition and that, in total, 27 works were submitted in the category. The Jury would like to emphasise the high standard of the entries. Having eliminated works that failed to meet the competition’s conditions and analysing those which qualified, the Jury resolved to award the following prizes:

  • § In the Jazz Themes category:

Grand Prix

PLN 7,000.00 to Adam Jarzmik, Poland for his composition entitled Rainforest

1st Prize:

PLN 4,000.00 to Szymon Sutor, Poland for his composition entitled Ceper;

2nd Prize:

PLN 3,000.00 to Takumi Kakimoto, Japan, for his composition entitled Seeker of Tales; the award sponsored by the Marshal of the Pomeranian province

3rd Prize:

PLN 1,500.00 to Paulina Porszke, Poland, for her composition entitled A Letter to Elohim.

Honourable mentions:

Emil MiszkPoland for his composition Chorale Ballad nr 3, PLN 1,000.00 sponsored by Tomasz Lach

Krzysztof Chmiel – Poland for his composition Night Shift, 500 PLN.

Szymon Sutor - Special award - prize of 15 recording hours in Radio Koszalin studios ;

The Audience Award - PLN 1000 for Paulina Porszke, as a result of voting on December 8, 2017 in Słupsk.

The prizes are funded by City of Gdańsk, City of Słupsk, Pomeranian Province, Tomasz Lach, Radio Koszalin.

Jury members’ signatures:

Professor Leszek Kułakowski


Professor Aleksandra Tomaszewska


Professor Marek Czerniewicz