Komeda Jazz Festival
JavaScript and FlashPlayer required. Download Flash Player.

9th Krzysztof Komeda Composers’ Competition

The laureates (from left side) - Mateusz Gawęda, Michał Kaczmarczyk, Szymon Sutor.

Premiere performance of the awarded composition by Michał Kaczmarczyk - "Disillussioned".


of the meeting of the Jury of the 9th Krzysztof Komeda Composers’ Competition

on 4th November 2015

The Jury, comprising:

  • Professor Leszek Kułakowski, composer; Chairman of the Jury
  • Professor Jerzy Jarosik, composer
  • Professor Adam Baruch, composer

certified that 43 entrants submitted works to the Competition and that, in total, 58 works were submitted in the two categories thereof. The Jury would like to emphasise the high standard of the entries. Having eliminated works that failed to meet the competition’s conditions and analysing those which qualified, the Jury resolved to award the following prizes:

  • § In the OPEN category:

1st Prize:

PLN 3,000.00, to Liberté-Anne Lymberiou, Montreal, Canada, for her composition entitled FistsUp,Fight Back !;

2nd Prize:

PLN 2,000.00 for Szymon Sutor, Poland, for his composition entitled Mirage;

3rd Prize:

PLN 1,000.00 to Felix Schrack-Germany for his composition entitled Traugutta

Honourable mentions:

Mateusz Gawęda –Poland for his composition Polish Drama prize of 15 recording hours in Radio Koszalin studios

  • § In the Jazz Themes category:

1st Prize:

PLN 2,000.00 to Michał Kaczmarczyk, Poland for his composition entitled Disillusioned;

2nd Prize:

PLN 1,250.00 to Sabina Mryczek, Poland, for her composition entitled A part of me;

3rd Prize:

PLN 7,50.00 to Adam Jarzmik, Poland, for his composition entitled The The Someone of The Thought.

Honourable mentions:

Wojciech Zwierniak –Poland for his composition Just Melody prize of 12 recording hours in Radio Gdańsk studios

The prizes are funded by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, the National Culture Centre, under the Centre’s Culture – Interventions grant programme, the Supporting Culture Fund established and administered by the ZAiKS [1] Authors’ Association and the Promotional Fund founded and run by the STOART Performing Artists’ Union, Radio Koszalin, Radio Gdańsk.

[1] Stage Authors’ and Composers’ Union – translator’s note.